There are three types of domestic violence that are recognized under Texas law. We will briefly explain each law and the associated penalties. Texas does not take domestic violence lightly. Even having a protective order because of domestic violence can have long lasting effects on your record. 

DOMESTIC ASSAULT

Domestic assault is defined as a threat or an act of violence against a person with whom the defendant has an intimate relationship. An act of assault involves bodily injury or the threat of imminent bodily injury. The act must be intentional, knowing, or reckless. Additionally, the act can involve physical contact which is reasonably considered offensive or provocative by the victim.

A conviction for first-time domestic assault is a Class A misdemeanor. If prior convictions exist, the punishment is a third degree felony under Texas law.

AGGRAVATED DOMESTIC ASSAULT

This charge applies for acts of serious bodily injury to a victim or using or exhibiting a deadly weapon while carrying out an assault or the threat of an assault.

“Serious bodily injury” involves more damage than a “bodily injury.” Examples include head injuries, broken bones, loss of limbs, or disfigurement.

A deadly weapon includes any object that can cause death to the victim. Examples include firearms, knives, and brass knuckles, but can also include items like baseball bats and rope depending on the circumstances.

A conviction will result in a second degree felony charge.

MULTIPLE ASSAULTS AGAINST THE FAMILY

If a defendant commits two or more domestic assaults in the span of two months, this charge may apply. The charge can apply whether the previous crimes resulted in arrests or convictions, and it can apply for multiple victims. A conviction is a third degree felony. 

PENALTIES FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CRIMES IN TEXAS

The penalties for convictions of any of these three crimes are harsh. Here is a breakdown.

Class A misdemeanor

Up to $4,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, or both

Third degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of two to 10 years

Second degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of two to 20 years

First degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of five to 99 years

Possible Additional penalties

Restitution may be ordered in some cases. The restitution money will cover the victim’s medical expenses, counseling, or damaged property.

Defendants with a first time finding may qualify for alternatives to incarceration. A guilty plea can help get deferred adjudication, which allows the defendant to serve a probation sentence while completing a treatment program, paying restitution, serving in the community, and committing no new crimes. 

Let ABC Bail Bonds Help

If someone you know is arrested for assault, check and see if they’ve been informed of their bond status. Once you have this information, you can seek a bail bond to get them out of jail as soon as possible. If you find yourself in need of bail in Greater Houston and surrounding areas, contact ABC Bail Bonds for a quick release. Our bail bond agents are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

DOMESTIC ASSAULT

Domestic assault is defined as a threat or an act of violence against a person with whom the defendant has an intimate relationship. An act of assault involves bodily injury or the threat of imminent bodily injury. The act must be intentional, knowing, or reckless. The act can also involve physical contact which is reasonably considered offensive or provocative by the victim.

A conviction for first-time domestic assault is a Class A misdemeanor. If prior convictions exist, the punishment is a third degree felony under Texas law.

AGGRAVATED DOMESTIC ASSAULT

This charge applies for acts of serious bodily injury to a victim or using or exhibiting a deadly weapon while carrying out an assault or the threat of an assault.

“Serious bodily injury” involves more damage than a “bodily injury.” Examples include head injuries, broken bones, loss of limbs, or disfigurement.

A deadly weapon includes any object that can cause death to the victim. Examples include firearms, knives, and brass knuckles, but can also include items like baseball bats and rope depending on the circumstances.

A conviction will result in a second degree felony charge.

MULTIPLE ASSAULTS AGAINST THE FAMILY

If a defendant commits two or more domestic assaults in the span of two months, this charge may apply. The charge can apply whether the previous crimes resulted in arrests or convictions, and it can apply for multiple victims. A conviction is a third degree felony. 

PENALTIES FOR DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CRIMES IN TEXAS

The penalties for convictions of any of these three crimes are harsh. Here is a breakdown.

Class A misdemeanor

Up to $4,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, or both

Third degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of two to 10 years

Second degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of two to 20 years

First degree felony

Up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of five to 99 years

Possible Additional penalties

Restitution may be ordered in some cases. The restitution money will cover the victim’s medical expenses, counseling, or damaged property.

Defendants with a first time finding may qualify for alternatives to incarceration. A guilty plea can help get deferred adjudication, which allows the defendant to serve a probation sentence while completing a treatment program, paying restitution, serving in the community, and committing no new crimes. 

Let ABC Bail Bonds Help

If someone you know is arrested for assault, check and see if they’ve been informed of their bond status. Once you have this information, you can seek a bail bond to get them out of jail as soon as possible. If you find yourself in need of bail in Greater Houston and surrounding areas, contact ABC Bail Bonds for a quick release. Our bail bond agents are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.