We are a society on the move, so auto accidents happen every day. There were over 113,000 crashes in Harris County in 2019, 395 of which were fatal. Even though accidents are never fun, they are usually pretty routine. We have an accident, examine damage, call insurance companies, and deal with any medical issues or repairs. However, sometimes an accident results in bigger legal issues, even criminal charges. Let’s take a look at how this can happen and what to do if you find yourself in a potentially criminal accident situation.
DUI/DWI Auto Accidents in Texas
One of the most common types of accidents to result in criminal charges is an accident that occurs when a driver is under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In Texas, a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is a charge that is specific to minors. It is illegal for minors to have any detectable amount of alcohol or drugs in their system. A DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) is a more serious charge that applies to adults 21 and over. You will be charged with a DWI if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol level of over .08%. If you have an accident while driving intoxicated, you may also be charged with property damage to the other driver’s car or vehicular injury or manslaughter if the other driver is injured or worse, dies.
Hit and Run Auto Accidents
A hit and run is when a driver hits another car or pedestrian and then leaves the scene to avoid consequences. This is never a good idea. The best reason not to flee is to be a good person and make sure the other driver or pedestrian is OK and gets proper medical attention. However, if that is not enough to convince you, there are plenty of non-moral reasons to stick around. In most cases, there will be witnesses who can identify you and your vehicle. If there aren’t, there may still be security cameras or traffic cameras that can identify your vehicle make, model, and license plate number. When you are caught, you will be charged with the original crime and with fleeing the scene. You could be sentenced to at least 6 months in jail and a fine of $500 to $5000 or more.
Reckless Driving Auto Accidents
Texas Transportation Code defines reckless driving as as operating a vehicle with “willful or wanton disregard for persons or property.” So, what is considered reckless driving? Excessive speed, racing, disregarding traffic signs and signals, and evading law enforcement all fall under the umbrella of reckless driving. Reckless driving may also be charged alongside a DWI/DUI charge, since the very act of driving under the influence is also disregarding the safety of others and their property. Distracted driving is another very common instance of reckless driving. Texting or otherwise using a mobile phone while driving causes thousands of accidents per year and causes many deaths.
Get Out of Jail with ABC Bail Bonds
If you have an accident that ends with your arrest, we can help you get out of jail fast. Accidents happen to everyone. Let us help you get released and start making it right. Give us a call and we can get started right away!